www.jpct.net

jPCT-AE - a 3d engine for Android => Support => Topic started by: guillaume on December 20, 2011, 10:03:53 AM

Title: any hint on anti-alias ?
Post by: guillaume on December 20, 2011, 10:03:53 AM
hi,  my app will run on a custom hardware, and it only support opengl es 1.0,
so how should  I implement anti-alias on my app with jPCT-AE ? thanks.
Title: Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
Post by: EgonOlsen on December 20, 2011, 10:35:52 AM
You can't. It isn't supported on ES 1.0 as far as i know.
Title: Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
Post by: guillaume on December 21, 2011, 01:03:10 AM
Quote from: EgonOlsen on December 20, 2011, 10:35:52 AM
You can't. It isn't supported on ES 1.0 as far as i know.
thanks. so what's the minimum ES version should I get ?
or is there any other way to implement it ?
Title: Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
Post by: EgonOlsen on December 21, 2011, 07:51:52 AM
You need 2.0 for this. jPCT has a helper class in the util-package to enable it for an OpenGL ES 2.0 context.

Edit: Example image: http://www.jpct.net/forum2/index.php/topic,2067.msg15892.html#msg15892 (http://www.jpct.net/forum2/index.php/topic,2067.msg15892.html#msg15892)
Title: Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
Post by: guillaume on December 21, 2011, 11:49:07 AM
by the way, I also tested my app with jPCT desktop version.
does code

buffer = new FrameBuffer(800, 600, FrameBuffer.SAMPLINGMODE_HARDWARE_ONLY);


will enable anti-alias ? the result seems no effect.
look the attach image(//)

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
Post by: EgonOlsen on December 21, 2011, 12:09:02 PM
No, it doesn't. Either use FrameBuffer.SAMPLINGMODE_GL_AA_2X or FrameBuffer.SAMPLINGMODE_GL_AA_4X instead. Or force it in the driver settings.
Title: Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
Post by: guillaume on December 21, 2011, 12:15:11 PM
I try this.

buffer = new FrameBuffer(800, 600, FrameBuffer.SAMPLINGMODE_GL_AA_4X);


and the result  seems the same.  am I missing something others ?

see the attachment.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
Post by: EgonOlsen on December 21, 2011, 12:43:24 PM
No, that's all there is to do. That doesn't mean that AA is supported on your platform. Many Intel onboard chips don't support it, for example.
Title: Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
Post by: guillaume on December 21, 2011, 12:56:34 PM
yes.  I am using intel onboard chips.
is there a software way to do anti-alias ?
Title: Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
Post by: EgonOlsen on December 21, 2011, 01:59:20 PM
No, not really. If it's not a laptop, go out and buy a cheap dedicated graphics card. Anything will do better than this Intel onboard crap (albeit they ARE improving, but it's about time...).